The poppy war
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York, N.Y. : Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018].
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
530 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Status
Sparks Library - Adult Fiction
SCIENCE FICTION KUANG 2018
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Sierra View Library - Adult FictionSCIENCE FICTION KUANG 2018Checked OutMarch 14, 2024
South Valleys Library - Adult FictionSCIENCE FICTION KUANG 2018Checked OutMarch 6, 2024
Sparks Library - Adult FictionSCIENCE FICTION KUANG 2018On Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
New York, N.Y. : Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018].
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Language
English

Notes

Description
"A brilliantly imaginative talent makes her exciting debut with this epic historical military fantasy, inspired by the bloody history of Chinas twentieth century and filled with treachery and magic, in the tradition of Ken Lius Grace of Kings and N.K. Jemisins Inheritance Trilogy. When Rin aced the Kejuthe Empire-wide test to find the most talented youth to learn at the Academiesit was a shock to everyone: to the test officials, who couldnt believe a war orphan from Rooster Province could pass without cheating; to Rins guardians, who believed theyd finally be able to marry her off and further their criminal enterprise; and to Rin herself, who realized she was finally free of the servitude and despair that had made up her daily existence. That she got into Sinegardthe most elite military school in Nikanwas even more surprising. But surprises arent always good. Because being a dark-skinned peasant girl from the south is not an easy thing at Sinegard. Targeted from the outset by rival classmates for her color, poverty, and gender, Rin discovers she possesses a lethal, unearthly poweran aptitude for the nearly-mythical art of shamanism. Exploring the depths of her gift with the help of a seemingly insane teacher and psychoactive substances, Rin learns that gods long thought dead are very much aliveand that mastering control over those powers could mean more than just surviving school. For while the Nikara Empire is at peace, the Federation of Mugen still lurks across a narrow sea. The militarily advanced Federation occupied Nikan for decades after the First Poppy War, and only barely lost the continent in the Second. And while most of the people are complacent to go about their lives, a few are aware that a Third Poppy War is just a spark away . . . Rins shamanic powers may be the only way to save her people. But as she finds out more about the god that has chosen her, the vengeful Phoenix, she fears that winning the war may cost her humanity . . . and that it may already be too late."--,Provided by Publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. (2018). The poppy war (First edition.). Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. 2018. The Poppy War. Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. The Poppy War Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Kuang, R. F. The Poppy War First edition., Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.